SXSW Film Festival 2013 | Jury & Special Awards

SXSW2013FilmLogoWinners of the Jury and Special Awards for the 2013 South by Southwest Film Festival were announced on March 12, 2013.



kissofthedamned 500

In the Documentary Feature Competition, the winner was William and the Windmill, directed by Ben Nabors, while We Always Lie to Strangers (directed by A.J. Schnack and David Wilson) was awarded Special Jury Recognition for Directing and Touba (Director of Photography Scott Duncan) was awarded Special Jury Recognition for Cinematography.

Short Term 12, directed by Destin Daniel Cretton, was the Grand Jury Winner in the Narrative Feature Competition, with Burma winning Special Jury Recognition for Ensemble Cast and Tishuan Scott winning Special Jury Recognition for Acting for his work in The Retrieval.

The winning narrative short was Ellen Is Leaving, directed by Michelle Savill, with Honorable Mentions awarded to Sequin Raze, directed by Sarah Gertrude Shapiro, and SKIN, directed by Jordana Spiro. SLOMO (directed by Josh Izenberg) was the winning documentary short, The Apocalypse (directed by Andrew Zuchero) the winning midnight short, Oh Willy… (directed by Emma De Swaef and Marc James Roels) the winning animated short, Vicalic, “Stamina” (directed by Saman Keshavarz) the winning music video, and The Benefactress (directed by Alina Vega) the winning Texas high school short.

Hannah Fidell won the SXSW Chicken & Egg Emergent Narrative Woman Director Award for A Teacher, with Katie Graham winning Special Mention for Zero Charisma. The Louis Black “Lone Star” Award went to Geoff Marslett for Loves Her Gun, and the Karen Schmeer Film Editing Fellowship was presented to Jim Hession.

Film Design Awards went to Kiss of the Damned for Excellence in Poster Design (Akiko Stehrenberger, Gravillis Inc.) and Joven & Alocada for Excellence in Title Design (Pablo González, Fabula). In addition, Crave was awarded Special Jury Recognition for Excellence in Title Design (Raleigh Stewart, Iron Helmet). | Sarah Boslaugh

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply