Be Social

Twitter: LastFM: PLAYBACK:stl YouTube: PLAYBACK:stl Instagram: Instagram

Book Reviews

Ramin Zahed | The Art of Rise of the Guardians (Insight Editions)

| Print |

Written by Sarah Boslaugh Thursday, 10 January 2013 21:12

Don’t ask me how they do it—if I knew, I’d be bottling it and selling it to the other studios, because it’s the kind of trick a lot of films have tried to pull off and failed.



Judy Gelman and Peter Zheutlin | The Unofficial Mad Men Cookbook (Bella Books)

| Print |

Written by Andrea Braun Tuesday, 11 December 2012 20:54

What the authors have done is mostly find ways to cook dishes that are mentioned by the characters at home or in restaurants, but in some cases the actual restaurant recipes are still available.



Paul Davies | Awakening: The Art of Halo 4 (Titan Books)

| Print |

Written by Brent Mueller Tuesday, 11 December 2012 20:32

For fans of Halo, Awakening is a chance to gets a behind-the-scenes look at the playground laid out for their enjoyment.



Mark Clark | Star Trek FAQ (Hal Leonard)

| Print |

Written by Sarah Boslaugh Wednesday, 05 December 2012 13:44

book star-trek-faqEverything Left to Know About the First Voyages of the Starship Enterprise


Katherine Rife | If You Like Quentin Tarantino/Scott Von Doviak | If You Like the Terminator (Limelight Editions)

| Print |

Written by Sarah Boslaugh Monday, 26 November 2012 08:58

ifyoulikequentin…Here Are Over 200 Films, TV Shows, and Other Oddities That You Will Love


Leonardo Faccio | Messi (Vintage)

| Print |

Written by Laura Hamlett Sunday, 11 November 2012 21:16

book messi"Like Maradona, Messi does not apply his brilliance to anything else other than playing soccer."


Joel W. Finler | Hollywood Movie Stills: Art and Technique in the Golden Age of the Studios (Titan Books)

| Print |

Written by Sarah Boslaugh Wednesday, 31 October 2012 12:49

Given the importance of movie stills during the years when Hollywood was king, it’s surprising they haven’t been studied more thoroughly.


Mark Danielewski | The Fifty Year Sword (Pantheon)

| Print |

Written by Brent Mueller Wednesday, 31 October 2012 09:36

In terms of writing, The Fifty Year Sword is a story that almost begs to be read aloud.



Marc Eliot | Michael Douglas: A Biography (Crown Archetype)

| Print |

Written by Andrea Braun Friday, 12 October 2012 15:31

douglas bioThe “love stories” found here between successful fathers and sons who feel inferior to them are a psychologist’s dream.


Lauren Fox | Friends Like Us (Knopf)

| Print |

Written by Andrea Braun Wednesday, 03 October 2012 08:37

friendslikeusSometimes she purposely does the wrong thing. She is, in short, human.


Dylan Jones |The Biographical Dictionary of Popular Music from Adele to Ziggy, The Real A to Z of Rock and Pop (Picador)

| Print |

Written by Ashley White Wednesday, 03 October 2012 08:31

biodictionaryWhat I found to be the most difficult was actually continuing to read with the same fervor as I turned the pages.


SLIBA Best-Sellers | 07.29.12

| Print |

Written by SLIBA Friday, 03 August 2012 13:59

sliba 1984The St. Louis Independent Bookstore Best-seller List for the week ending July 29, 2012


Page 3 of 18

Share it...

deli.cio.usDiggFacebookFriendfeedGoogle BookmarksGoogle BuzzJumptagsLinkagogoLinkedinMySpacePropellerredditStumbleUponTwitter

From the Archive

Friday, 23 July 2010 00:00
Wednesday, 01 October 2003 00:00
Wednesday, 06 September 2006 15:30
Friday, 09 November 2007 10:33
Monday, 02 January 2012 19:57
Friday, 18 December 2009 00:00
Friday, 04 September 2009 04:48
Wednesday, 28 March 2007 14:52
Wednesday, 23 July 2014 21:43
Sunday, 28 December 2014 23:15

From the Theatre & Arts

Friday, 20 November 2015 07:48
Saturday, 07 November 2015 18:53
Tuesday, 03 November 2015 17:52
Saturday, 24 October 2015 06:58
Tuesday, 20 October 2015 06:40