Be Social

Twitter: LastFM: PLAYBACK:stl YouTube: PLAYBACK:stl Instagram: Instagram

Book Reviews

Judy Gelman and Peter Zheutlin | The Unofficial Mad Men Cookbook (Bella Books)

| Print |

Written by Andrea Braun Tuesday, 11 December 2012 20:54

What the authors have done is mostly find ways to cook dishes that are mentioned by the characters at home or in restaurants, but in some cases the actual restaurant recipes are still available.

 

 

Paul Davies | Awakening: The Art of Halo 4 (Titan Books)

| Print |

Written by Brent Mueller Tuesday, 11 December 2012 20:32

For fans of Halo, Awakening is a chance to gets a behind-the-scenes look at the playground laid out for their enjoyment.

 

   

Mark Clark | Star Trek FAQ (Hal Leonard)

| Print |

Written by Sarah Boslaugh Wednesday, 05 December 2012 13:44

book star-trek-faqEverything Left to Know About the First Voyages of the Starship Enterprise

 

Katherine Rife | If You Like Quentin Tarantino/Scott Von Doviak | If You Like the Terminator (Limelight Editions)

| Print |

Written by Sarah Boslaugh Monday, 26 November 2012 08:58

ifyoulikequentin…Here Are Over 200 Films, TV Shows, and Other Oddities That You Will Love

   

Leonardo Faccio | Messi (Vintage)

| Print |

Written by Laura Hamlett Sunday, 11 November 2012 21:16

book messi"Like Maradona, Messi does not apply his brilliance to anything else other than playing soccer."

 

Joel W. Finler | Hollywood Movie Stills: Art and Technique in the Golden Age of the Studios (Titan Books)

| Print |

Written by Sarah Boslaugh Wednesday, 31 October 2012 12:49

Given the importance of movie stills during the years when Hollywood was king, it’s surprising they haven’t been studied more thoroughly.

   

Mark Danielewski | The Fifty Year Sword (Pantheon)

| Print |

Written by Brent Mueller Wednesday, 31 October 2012 09:36

In terms of writing, The Fifty Year Sword is a story that almost begs to be read aloud.

 

 

Marc Eliot | Michael Douglas: A Biography (Crown Archetype)

| Print |

Written by Andrea Braun Friday, 12 October 2012 15:31

douglas bioThe “love stories” found here between successful fathers and sons who feel inferior to them are a psychologist’s dream.

   

Lauren Fox | Friends Like Us (Knopf)

| Print |

Written by Andrea Braun Wednesday, 03 October 2012 08:37

friendslikeusSometimes she purposely does the wrong thing. She is, in short, human.

 

Dylan Jones |The Biographical Dictionary of Popular Music from Adele to Ziggy, The Real A to Z of Rock and Pop (Picador)

| Print |

Written by Ashley White Wednesday, 03 October 2012 08:31

biodictionaryWhat I found to be the most difficult was actually continuing to read with the same fervor as I turned the pages.

   

SLIBA Best-Sellers | 07.29.12

| Print |

Written by SLIBA Friday, 03 August 2012 13:59

sliba 1984The St. Louis Independent Bookstore Best-seller List for the week ending July 29, 2012

 

Peter Rosch | My Dead Friend Sarah (CreateSpace)

| Print |

Written by Andrea Braun Tuesday, 31 July 2012 20:28

It is giving nothing away to say that Sarah dies, considering the title says so, but when and how it happens and “whodunit” is the business of the book.

   

Page 2 of 17

order sildenafil online

Share it...

deli.cio.usDiggFacebookFriendfeedGoogle BookmarksGoogle BuzzJumptagsLinkagogoLinkedinMySpacePropellerredditStumbleUponTwitter

From the Archive


Tuesday, 07 October 2008 06:26
Monday, 08 September 2008 06:48
Friday, 28 December 2007 06:39
Wednesday, 05 March 2008 13:49
Friday, 01 April 2011 00:00
Friday, 28 September 2007 02:14
Wednesday, 02 May 2007 09:35
Thursday, 02 August 2012 16:58
Thursday, 03 July 2008 04:06
Friday, 11 March 2011 12:14

For the Couch


dvd_shark-collection.jpg
Wednesday, 23 July 2014 21:39
dvd_gangster.jpg
Wednesday, 23 July 2014 21:32
dvd_hidden-kingdoms.jpg
Monday, 21 July 2014 13:49
dvd_detour.jpg
Monday, 14 July 2014 13:21
dvd_orphan-black2.jpg
Monday, 14 July 2014 13:04

From the Theatre & Arts


Addams-Family_75.gif
Thursday, 17 July 2014 08:00
LPJ_sq.jpg
Sunday, 13 July 2014 23:08
Porgy-and-Bess_75.gif
Wednesday, 09 July 2014 22:18
Tarzan_75.jpg
Friday, 27 June 2014 12:06
Tenacious-Eats_75.gif
Wednesday, 25 June 2014 09:56