Be Social

Twitter: LastFM: PLAYBACK:stl YouTube: PLAYBACK:stl Instagram: Instagram

Book Reviews

Dave Thompson | If You Like True Blood (Hal Leonard)

| Print |

Written by Sarah Boslaugh Tuesday, 04 June 2013 20:19

trueblood 75You can pick it up and start reading anywhere, even if you’re not in the market for a new vampire film or novel at the moment.

 

Philip R. Simon | The Art of Bioshock Infinite (Dark Horse)

| Print |

Written by Brent Mueller Monday, 13 May 2013 10:16

Bioshock Infinite HeaderSet in an age where Tesla, Edison, and Einstein were all at the peak of their careers, The Art of Bioshock Infinite shows a world that literally rose above anything humanity had imagined before.

 

 

   

Simon Goddard | Songs That Saved Your Life (Revised Edition): The Art of The Smiths 1982-87 (Titan Books)

| Print |

Written by J. Church Saturday, 20 April 2013 12:04

songsthatsaved 75The book is a Harold Bloom-ian analysis of practically every song and performance from The Smith halcyon days.

 

Danielle Trussoni | Angelopolis (Viking)

| Print |

Written by Brent Mueller Monday, 08 April 2013 11:39

Of the multitude of divergent subplots, very few reached completion, and at times the information they introduced was muddled and contradictory.

 

 

   

Hideo Furukawa | Belka, Why Don’t You Bark (VIZ Media/Haikasoru)

| Print |

Written by Brent Mueller Monday, 21 January 2013 20:26

Belka, Why Don’t You Bark? isn’t a narrative in a traditional sense. It is told through dozens of different voices—some human, but mostly canine—all the while continuously jumping forward and backward through the ages.

 

Ramin Zahed | The Art of Rise of the Guardians (Insight Editions)

| Print |

Written by Sarah Boslaugh Thursday, 10 January 2013 21:12

Don’t ask me how they do it—if I knew, I’d be bottling it and selling it to the other studios, because it’s the kind of trick a lot of films have tried to pull off and failed.

 

   

Judy Gelman and Peter Zheutlin | The Unofficial Mad Men Cookbook (Bella Books)

| Print |

Written by Andrea Braun Tuesday, 11 December 2012 20:54

What the authors have done is mostly find ways to cook dishes that are mentioned by the characters at home or in restaurants, but in some cases the actual restaurant recipes are still available.

 

 

Paul Davies | Awakening: The Art of Halo 4 (Titan Books)

| Print |

Written by Brent Mueller Tuesday, 11 December 2012 20:32

For fans of Halo, Awakening is a chance to gets a behind-the-scenes look at the playground laid out for their enjoyment.

 

   

Mark Clark | Star Trek FAQ (Hal Leonard)

| Print |

Written by Sarah Boslaugh Wednesday, 05 December 2012 13:44

book star-trek-faqEverything Left to Know About the First Voyages of the Starship Enterprise

 

Katherine Rife | If You Like Quentin Tarantino/Scott Von Doviak | If You Like the Terminator (Limelight Editions)

| Print |

Written by Sarah Boslaugh Monday, 26 November 2012 08:58

ifyoulikequentin…Here Are Over 200 Films, TV Shows, and Other Oddities That You Will Love

   

Leonardo Faccio | Messi (Vintage)

| Print |

Written by Laura Hamlett Sunday, 11 November 2012 21:16

book messi"Like Maradona, Messi does not apply his brilliance to anything else other than playing soccer."

 

Joel W. Finler | Hollywood Movie Stills: Art and Technique in the Golden Age of the Studios (Titan Books)

| Print |

Written by Sarah Boslaugh Wednesday, 31 October 2012 12:49

Given the importance of movie stills during the years when Hollywood was king, it’s surprising they haven’t been studied more thoroughly.

   

Page 2 of 17

order sildenafil online

Share it...

deli.cio.usDiggFacebookFriendfeedGoogle BookmarksGoogle BuzzJumptagsLinkagogoLinkedinMySpacePropellerredditStumbleUponTwitter

From the Archive


Monday, 14 August 2006 05:43
Sunday, 08 April 2007 10:51
Thursday, 19 May 2011 10:33
Tuesday, 21 April 2009 11:06
Tuesday, 02 December 2014 12:37
Monday, 07 June 2010 00:00
Thursday, 31 January 2013 13:24
Wednesday, 10 September 2014 15:59
Saturday, 13 January 2007 09:02
Wednesday, 06 September 2006 00:52

For the Couch


Wednesday, 25 March 2015 11:27
Wednesday, 25 March 2015 11:18
Tuesday, 24 March 2015 10:38
Wednesday, 18 March 2015 22:58
Tuesday, 03 March 2015 14:23